Archive | 23:15

baby boom. (25)

30 Jul

So I’ve never known what’s it’s like to be called a baby boomer (we’ve left that up to our parents’ generation thus far), but I have a feeling that there’s something in the water, and that we’re likely to have a similar moniker when our children are of child bearing age. Maybe it’s one of those “if you drive a blue Jeep, you see blue Jeeps everywhere” kinds of scenarios, but I feel like over half of the families I know right now are having babies. And not just over the next six to nine months, but right now.  This month, next month–sometime before autumn arrives.

Facebook is exploding with birth announcements and cute, scrunchy new faces and beaming parents…and it’s only a matter of time before our timelines are doing the same as well. (I dislike Facebook in some ways, but I will say it’s good for keeping up on the bigger moments of peoples’ lives, at least:). There’s a lot of celebrating going on, a lot of new person naming, a ton of photography and video being captured, and many women literally pushing through the summer as they grow their families. I am thankful to be among them.

All of this baby having begs a few questions though, and they’ve been racking up in my mind over the past few weeks. How many of us will have chosen similar names for our kiddos? How much influence does the UK have on our own pop culture: will George be the new #1 name in the US, or in our area, after 2013 wraps up? Why, if every other woman I see is pregnant around here, do we not have better options for maternity apparel within a 20 mile radius? How many of us will be filing into the hospital on the same day, at the same time, to birth our babes? Should we start a club or something? ;)

Silly ramblings, I know, but it’s true that this baby craze is too abundant to ignore. There are new little ones everywhere! I’m not sure whether it’s our age, our town, whatever the weather was doing back in Oct/Nov/Dec of last year, but babies kind of rule the land at the moment. It’s fun to be in good company.

This post marks the three quarter point of my 100 day blogging adventure for the Button, and admittedly, it has been a harder commitment to keep this time around. It’s not because I don’t want to do it, or because it matters any less to me than the first time I took it on–it’s just that our days are more full than ever, and at the end of them, I’m running on E before I get to the computer. That being said, I hope our wee one will see this as an act of love, and that he or she will know even more how deeply I already cherish the life that is brewing within. 24 countdown days to go before we start counting up–we’ll see when baby decides to declare the finish line!

until then…blogging away,

mm